Log in

Destination Turin: Palazzina di caccia Stupinigi

Savoy residence for the Hunting and Celebrations built starting from 1729 on a project by Filippo Juvarra, the Palazzina di Caccia of Stupinigi is one of the monumental jewels of Turin, 10 km from Piazza Castello, in perfect direction.

Destination Turin: Porta Palatina

Porta Palatina is considered the most conspicuous remains of Roman Turin and the oldest, grandiose and best preserved example of Roman city gate.

Destination Turin: Palazzo Carignano

One of the most original constructions of the Baroque, it was built between 1679 and 1684 by Guarino Guarini commissioned by the prince Emanuele Filiberto il Muto, son of Tommaso di Carignano.

Destination Turin: Venaria Reale

Built for the will of Carlo Emanuele II as a hunting and leisure residence, the Reggia di Venaria is one of the magnificent Piedmontese ducal residences built to create a "Crown of Delights" around the capital to witness the power of the Savoy.

Destination Turin: The Cathedral and the Sacred Shroud

The Cathedral of Turin is dedicated to St. John the Baptist, the patron saint of the city. Built between 1491 and 1498 at the behest of Cardinal della Rovere, the Renaissance-style cathedral has a white marble façade with three portals decorated with reliefs and a red brick bell tower with a crowning of the Juvarra. The basilican interior has a Latin cross with three naves with Gothic elements.

Destination Turin: Palazzo Madama

Palazzo Madama today is the seat of the Civic Museum of Ancient Art but this wonderful building built on the ruins of an ancient Roman gate was a fortress, a castle (as evidenced by the rear facade with medieval towers) and residence of two "Madame Reali", Maria Cristina of France and Jeanne of Savoy-Nemours, under whose regency the building was enlarged and embellished.

Destination Turin: Mole Antonelliana

Symbol of the city, the first thing to see in Turin. The Mole Antonelliana was started in 1863 on a project by Alessandro Antonelli to perform the function of a Jewish temple. In 1878 it was sold to the municipality that wanted to make it a monument dedicated to the king of Italy Vittorio Emanuele II.